top of page

FEBRUARY SOAP CHALLENGE

This months challenge required me to make soap combining Melt and Pour and Cold Process, being that I have never really used this technique I was glad to participate in this challenge and use it as a learning opportunity. At first I was so overwhelmed with ideas I had no idea where to begin, from embeds, to swirls, to layers, lets say I was confused. The only thing I was sure of was that I wanted to make something I could also sell at the end. In the end I chose to do both swirling and embeds. I had not done much soaping with melt and pour at all and have always preferred the CP technique, and after this I must say I see where MP has its benefits, but I still really like the CP, to each their own.

I started off by making my embeds, bright vibrant starts of all different sizes. I did get carried away and had a ton of extra stars at the end. Once they were prepared I chose the scent, Cotton Candy, being that this was going to be a bright and fun soap I wanted to use a fragrance that kids would like. Next, I made my lye water and melted my oils. While they were cooling I melted a small amount of MP base. I then colored the MP base hot pink. I mixed my lye water and oils, then separated the batch of CP into 5 equal parts four of which were colored with blue, green, yellow, and purple, the 5th part was left uncolored. I added scent and whisked in all the fragrance and color. Next I poured a base of uncolored CP, after only a minute I placed in the large pink MP stars I had made previously, I butted them up against each other so they reached all the way across the mold leaving no space, therefore every piece of soap would have a star on both sides. Next I began my swirl I just poured all 5 colors in sequence right down the middle of my mold going up and down while while pouring from different heights. Finally, I added another layer of uncolored CP and finished off my five colors with the same swirling technique, I had no trouble with the MP and CP separating. Finally, I was able to ice the top of my soap. This was the only part where I did not get the exact colors I was hoping for. I hoped to have bright blue and yellow, but instead they were more pastel. After I iced my soap I used a bunch of small MP stars for the top of my soap, and named it "I am a Rock Star"!!! After 24 hrs I un-molded my soap, and the next day, I was able to cut it. Wow, was I pretty happy it turned out great!! Thanks for allowing me to share and participate!!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page